Black Jacks

  • Vegetarian
  • Gelatine Free
  • Gluten Free
  • No artificial flavours
  • No artificial colours

£2.97 for 200 grams (7.07 oz)

Unfortunately the manufacturer of this product prohibits us from shipping it to the United States.
fast delivery
Food Hygiene
Secure Checkout
fast deliveryFood HygieneSecure Checkoutguaranteed

See the ALLERGENS & NUTRITIONAL INFO. tab below for further ingredients' details

Create Personalised Gift Jar
Create Personalised Gift Jar

Black Jacks - aniseed-flavour chewy black rectangles with a unique, delicious unique taste. Plus they're vegetarian and gluten-free too!

Chomp on them and they make your tongue go black - so not to be munched just before you go out on that hot date! They're truly one of the best classic British sweets EVER - we love them!

They used to be made by Trebor... that's Robert backwards!



Glucose Syrup, Sugar, Palm Oil, Hydrolysed Pea Protein, E330: Citric Acid, Acidity Regulator( E331iii: Trisodium Citrate). Colours: Vegetable Carbon, Flavours: Aniseed Oil, Allergens: Not suitable for children under 3 years old.

This item contains the following per 100g:

Energy (kj): 1612
Energy (kcal): 380
Fat (g): 3.7
Saturated Fat (g): 1.9
Carbohydrate (g): 86.3
of which Sugars (g): 48.8
Protein (g): 0.3
Salt (g): 0.19

Are Black Jacks Suitable For Vegetarians

Yes, there's no gelatine or any other non-vegetarian ingredient in this sweet.

Are Black Jack Sweets Vegan

No, this sweet is not Vegan.

Are Black Jacks Gluten Free

Yes, there are no ingredients containing gluten in this sweet - it is Coeliac or Celiac friendly.
Customer Reviews


These were OK but they weren't as hard and chewy as they were when I was a child. I actually lost one of my milk teeth on one. I loved them then with their licorice taste.



Still the same taste as my school days



What can I say black jacks






Wow real sweets just like when I was small. Heavenly


Black Jacks Fun Facts

Did you know that back in the day they also used to make Apple Jacks sweets?  And they tasted of... no surprises here... banana!  (only joking!  they were apple of course!)

I wonder where the name comes from? Well the answer comes from superstar customer Mike. Are you sitting comfortably? Then we'll begin....

Black Jacks Sweets were called Black Jacks because the original 1920s labels pictured a grinning toy - unbelievably, back then many images which we wouldn't dream of using today were used to advertise Liquorice.

By the late 1980s (yes, that recently amazingly) manufacturers Trebor quite rightly scrapped that Black Jacks logo as it was racially offensive, replaced the logo with an image of a pirate with a black beard and eye patch and re branded the sweets as Black Jack. And by the early 1990s Trebor disbanded the pirate logo altogether in favour of the the black and white swirl design we all remember.

In 2008, a confectionery company called Tangerine bought out Trebor and decided to change the design once more to the current plain black with red writing.... now the swirly black and white packaging we all remember is gone forever, although they still taste the same.... hooray!

These days when you think of Black Jacks you also think of another Barratt's sweet - Fruit Salads.  There used to be even more in the range too (some of which have sadly disappeared in the time that our online sweetshop has been up and running - sadly these days you can't savour the delights of Apple Jacks (I think you can probably guess what they tasted like!)