Taveners Pontefract Cakes

Taveners Pontefract Cakes

  • VeganVegan
  • VegetarianVegetarian
  • Gelatine FreeGelatine Free
  • No artificial flavoursNo artificial flavours
  • No artificial coloursNo artificial colours

£2.27 for 250g (8.8oz)

Unfortunately the manufacturer of this product prohibits us from shipping it to the United States.

Temporarily out of stock

fast delivery
Food Hygiene
Secure Checkout
guaranteed

See the ALLERGENS & NUTRITIONAL INFO. tab below for further ingredients' details

Description

Taveners Pontefract Cakes - Now, these lovelies are iconic, and have been around for AGES. Listen to this for a priceless bit of trivia:

According to our in-house sweet anorak, the Pontefract Cake (aka Pomfret Cake, or Yorkshire Penny) with the imprint of Pontefract Castle has been around since 1614!Originally, they were only made in Pontefract (that's near Leeds)... bad weather didn't matter too much because they used the liquorice root.

And listen to this... liquorice is such a big deal in Pontefract, that there is now an annual Liquorice Festival celebrated! How cool is that?!

Other bits of Pontefract Cake trivia:-

- Up to the 1960s all Pontefract Cakes were made by hand
- A Pontefract Cake maker was known as a Caker or Thumper
- In 1955 a caker was paid 4 pence a tray, with each tray holding 280 cakes

ALLERGENS & NUTRITIONAL INFORMATION

INGREDIENTS

Treacle, Glucose Syrup, Maize Starch, WHEAT Flour, Liqourice Extract, Potato Starch. Glazing Agents: Vegetable Oil, Palm Oil, Carnauba Wax, Invert Sugar Syrup. Flavours: Aniseed Oil, Allergens: GLUTEN, WHEAT

This item contains the following per 100g:

Energy (kj): 1358
Energy (kcal): 320
Fat (g): 0.3
Saturated Fat (g): 0.2
Carbohydrate (g): 77
of which Sugars (g): 53.5
Protein (g): 2.2
Salt (g): 0.62

Is It Vegetarian?

Yes, there's no gelatine or any other non-vegetarian ingredient in this sweet.

Is It Vegan?

Yes, there are no ingredients in this sweet which are derived from animals.

Is It Gluten-Free?

No, this sweet contains gluten and is not suitable for people with Coeliac or Celiac Disease.
Customer Reviews
loading

What Do Your Fellow Retro Sweet Lovers Say?
 
See loads more reviews on our Wall of Love